When you import audit data from external media, or delete one or more Sites, Network Inventory places audit snapshots for computers and devices with no associated Sites into the Lost and Found container. If a previously lost computer or device reappears in any Site, Network Inventory moves the respective node from Lost and Found and associates it with the new Site.
The Lost and Found container has no Audit Source. You can not discover, audit, delete, or modify this container. Network Nodes belonging to Lost and Found can not be audited or discovered either.
Network Inventory does not display the Lost and Found container when it is empty. When there is at least one lost node, Lost and Found, marked with the special icon , appears in the Sidebar below your Sites.