Managing technician role membership

When you grant one or more security roles to a Technician Account, you allow this technician to perform specific tasks in the Alloy Navigator Express system. You assign roles to a technician when creating or editing the Technician Account. You can also revoke security roles assigned to a particular Technician Account.

Before you begin, the security roles must be created and configured.

To assign one or more security roles to a technician:

  1. In the Accounts and Roles > Accounts section, double-click the Technician Account. The User Account window appears.

  2. On the Member Of tab, click Add, select one or more roles to assign, and click OK.

  3. Click OK.

NOTE: If this account is currently in use, your changes will be applied the next time the user logs in. If you want to force the user to log off, you can go to Accounts and Roles > User Sessions and terminate the user session. For details, see Terminating use sessions manually.

To revoke one or more security roles from a technician:

  1. In theAccounts and Roles > Accounts section, double-click the Technician Account. The User Account window appears.

  2. On the Member Of tab, select one or more roles to revoke and click Remove.

  3. Click OK.

NOTE: If this account is currently in use, your changes will be applied the next time the user logs in. If you want to force the user to log off, you can go to Accounts and Roles > User Sessions and terminate the user session. For details, see Terminating use sessions manually.