Managing archiving jobs

Archiving jobs regularly check your Alloy Navigator database, and archive and remove closed TickeFt records matching the job’s policy. When an archiving job runs, it creates a separate new archive database. Archive databases contain archived Tickets, where all references to other objects are replaced with text identifying these items.

Alloy Navigator provides default policies for Incidents, Problems, Change Requests, Service Requests, and Work Orders that are configured to archive records that were not modified for at least 30 days. These policies are initially disabled. You can enable policies for each object class selectively and adjust the period of inactivity as needed.

A single job policy can include Tickets of different classes; each Ticket class can have its own time period after which the records are considered unused.  However, a single job can perform only one action of your choice - either archive and remove or remove unused Tickets without archiving. If you want to archive records in one case and simply purge records in another, you must create multiple archiving jobs to perform different tasks. For example, one job would archive unused Change Requests after 2 years and Service Requests after 1 year, and another job would remove unused Work Orders and Incidents after six months.

To open the list of Archiving jobs, choose Services > Archiving > Archiving.

On the list of archiving jobs, you can perform the following actions:

After an archiving job was run by the Automation Server, you can check the job results. See Checking archiving job results.