Managing user role membership

When you grant one or more security roles to an account, you allow this user to perform specific tasks in the Alloy Discovery system. You assign roles to a user when creating or editing the account. You can also revoke security roles assigned to a particular account.

Before you begin, the security roles must be created and configured.

To assign one or more security roles to a user:

  1. In the Accounts and Roles > Accounts section, double-click the account. The User Account [Account Name] window appears.

  2. On the Member Of tab, click Add, select one or more roles to assign, and click OK.

  3. Click OK.

NOTE: If this account is currently in use, your changes will be applied the next time the user logs in. If you want to force the user to log off, you can go to Accounts and Roles > User Sessions and terminate the user session. For details, see Terminating user sessions manually.

To revoke one or more security roles from a user:

  1. In the Accounts and Roles > Accounts section, double-click the account. The User Account [Account Name] window appears.

  2. On the Member Of tab, select one or more roles to revoke and click Remove.

  3. Click OK.

NOTE: If this account is currently in use, your changes will be applied the next time the user logs in. If you want to force the user to log off, you can go to Accounts and Roles > User Sessions and terminate the user session. For details, see Terminating user sessions manually.