New permissions page

Updated in 8.3

The new version introduces new functionality and new object classes related to the new functionality. In order to enable your technicians to access the new functionality and objects, review your existing security roles and grant new permissions to those who need them.

You can skip this step now and assign permissions later, but keep in mind that without these permissions your technicians will be unable to access new features that were introduced in version 8. For instructions on working with security roles, see Managing security roles.

IMPORTANT: We recommend that all modifications of objects in Alloy Navigator Express are always implemented through workflow Actions. The Modify access permission should be granted to administrators only who have a good understanding of how direct modifications may affect the system.

ClosedClick here to view details on new permissions in version 8.

  • Advanced Administrative Functions - this group contains all permissions that control access to advanced administrative functions, such as Batch Update and Recurrent Ticket Management. Alloy Navigator Express 8 introduces a new permission in this group:

    • Local Dashboard Customization - allows role members to locally customize the dashboard in the Desktop App. You may assign this new permission to administrators who creates and shares views.

  • Approval Request - standard Delete, Modify, and View permissions that control access to Approval Requests. Approval Requests are requests sent to particular persons ("approvers") to approve or reject them.

    Assign these new permissions to technicians who are in charge of Approval Management.

    NOTE: In order to enable technicians to view or modify Approval Requests, you must also grant the View or Modify permission on the approved objects correspondingly.

  • Change Request - standard Delete, Modify, and View permissions that control access to Change Requests. Change Requests are requests sent to particular persons ("approvers") to approve or reject them. The special Manage Activities permission, which implicitly includes Modify and Delete permissions for modifying and deleting Activities.

    NOTE: In order to enable technicians to view or modify Change Requests, you must also grant the View or Modify permission on the approved objects correspondingly.

  • Consumable - standard Delete, Modify, and View permissions that control access to Consumables. In contrast to durable assets such as Computers, Software Licenses, andInventory Items, Consumables are used continually until run out or discarded, such as paper, post-it notes, or toner cartridges.

    You may assign these new permissions to technicians who are in charge of the IT Assets and will now be also responsible for Stock Management.

  • Product - standard Delete, Modify, and View permissions that control access to Products. Products are used to describe what products your company may order from vendors, where a product is an asset, consumable, or service. Products are offered through the Product Catalog.

    You may want to assign these new permissions to technicians who are already in charge of the IT Assets and will now be also responsible for Stock Management.

  • Vendor - standard Delete, Modify, and View permissions that control access to Vendors, which are vendors of Products available in the Product Catalog.

    You may want to assign these new permissions to technicians who are already in charge of the IT Assets and will now be also responsible for Stock Management.

  • Reservation - standard Delete, Modify, and View permissions that control access to Reservations. Now when your customers need to rent a piece of equipment from your Library or to reserve a conference room for an event, they can make Reservations for a Library Item. Reservations enables managers to visualize and manage the Library reservation queue.

    Assign these new permissions to those who are responsible for Library.

  • Person - a group of special permissions that control the ability to manage personal calendars for technicians in the Desktop App:

    • Modify Own Work Time - allows group members to manage their own personal events. You may want to assign this new permission to all technicians.

    • Modify Work Time for All - allows group members to manage personal events for all technicians. You may want to assign this new permission to technicians and managers who are in charge of Project Management.

To assign new security permissions to an existing security role:

  1. Select a role under Existing Roles.

  2. Under New Permissions, review permissions introduced in the new version. Click the plus icon (+) to expand nodes.

  3. Using available check boxes, select the new permissions this role should grant. To select or deselect all permissions in the list, click Select All or Deselect All, respectively.

    Repeat these steps to distribute the new permissions as needed and click Next.