Working with views

After you have customized the visual aspects of a grid, you can save your settings for further use as a view. A view is a particular visual representation of a grid. Each of Network Inventory grids has one or more data views already created for your convenience.

You can work with data using these pre-defined views or create and save your own custom views. You can organize your pre-defined or custom views, which includes disabling any of them, and sharing, renaming or deleting custom views.

There are two types of views in Network Inventory:

  • Personal views - available for you only.

  • Shared views - available not only to you but also to other Network Inventory users.

When you access an Network Inventory grid, the data is displayed using either the default view for that component or using the view you chose last. The name of the current view is shown as follows:

  • On the grid's Module menu as [ View Name ]; for example: By Operating System

  • In the status bar as [ Site Name] - [ Grid]([ View Name]); for example, Zeus - Network Devices (By Type)

NOTE: For Computers grid, status bar displays the name of the current view as follows: [ Site Name] - [ Grid] - [ Tab Name]([ View Name]), for example, Zeus - Computers - Shared Folders (By Path).