Merging Person records

As different users or services create PersonInventory Item records or the new records are imported from the Active Directory or other directory service, a personpiece of hardware may be represented in the system with more than one record. In this case, you can start the Merge PersonsInventory Item wizard from the duplicate record that you want to merge into the target record that you want to keep. The duplicate (source) record will be then deleted.

The wizard will give you a choice how to overwrite the data in the target record with the data from the source record. Although, these associated objects will be always added from the source record to the target one:

  • E-mails and Logins (for details, see General tab);
  • Groups (for Technicians only; for details about Groups, see General tab);
  • All Configuration Items (for details, see Configuration Items tab);
  • Tickets and Changes (for details, see Tickets and Changes tab);
  • Attachments and links (for details, see Attachments tab).
  • Accounts and Roles (for the Technician type of the Person records only);
  • SSP accounts (for the Customer type of the Person records only).

To merge two PersonInventory Item records into one:

  1. Open the duplicate (source) PersonInventory Item record.

    IMPORTANT: Make sure not to start the Merge PersonsInventory Item wizard from the target record that you want to keep. You will select that target record later.

  2. On the Module menu, click Actions > Merge with. The Merge PersonsInventory Item wizard starts.

  3. Select the target PersonInventory Item from the Target PersonInventory Item drop-down list, then Next.

  4. From the Overwrite Mode drop-down list, choose how you want to insert the source data into the target record:

    • Overwrite only blank values in the target record - only blank fields of the target record will be filled out with the values from the source record.

    • Do not overwrite any values in the target record - no field values in the target record will be changed.

    • Overwrite all values in the target record - all fields of the target record will be filled out with the values from the source record.

    • Overwrite only non-blank values in the target record - only non-blank fields of the target record will be filled out with the values of the source record.

  5. Click Next.

  6. Review the merge settings and click Start.

  7. Once the merge is complete, leave the View the details of the target PersonInventory Item now check box selected if you want to open the target record details now, or clear it. Then click Finish to close the wizard.