Repository Options

You use the Repository Options section to set up the Site Ownership rule and to configure pruning.

Site Ownership

Each Network Node (i.e. a computer or a network device) in Network Inventory belongs to a Site. However, a node can appear in more than one Site. For example, a laptop may be discovered and audited in a Site for the Western Branch, then taken on a business trip and discovered in a Site for the Main Office. In this case, this laptop appears in two Sites at the same time.

Network Inventory uses the Owned by Site attribute to identify the owner of each Network Node. By default, Network Inventory makes the Site where the node was discovered during the most recent audit the node's owner. If you want to track the Site where the node was discovered during the very first audit as the node's owner, you can change the Site Ownership rule.

To set up the Site Ownership rule:

  1. Navigate to the Network Inventory > Repository Options section.

  2. Under Site Ownership, set the Site Ownership rule as needed:

    • To track the Site where the node was discovered during the very first audit as the node's owner, click First received audit snapshot or first discovery of the Network Node.

    • To restore the default setting, click Last received audit snapshot or last discovery of the Network Node. This make the Site where the node was discovered during the most recent audit the node's owner.

  3. Click Save.

Pruning

The Network Inventory database is a repository that stores audit snapshots and change history data. As the database grows, its size may adversely affect the performance of Network Inventory. You can use the pruning service to automatically delete old data. This might include, for example, snapshots for computers that were renamed or physically removed from the network, or old change history data.

To configure the pruning feature:

  1. Navigate to the Network Inventory > Repository Options section.

  2. Under Pruning, specify the following options:

    • To delete the audit information about computers and network devices that has not been updated in a long time, select the Remove Network Nodes that are older than check box and enter the pruning threshold in days.

    • To delete old change history data, select the Remove Change Events that are older than check box and enter the pruning threshold in days, months, or years.

  3. Click Save.