Internet Information Services (IIS) Requirements

The web server hosting your Web App, Self Service Portal, and/or API instances must have Internet Information Services (IIS), an optional component of Windows OS, installed and properly configured.

Before installing the Web App, Self Service Portal, or the API module, the Alloy Installer checks the state of IIS automatically, along with other prerequisites. The information is shown in the "Internet Information Services state" row of the Check Prerequisites window. If the test fails, the Check Prerequisites window displays a warning message along with a hyperlink. Click the hyperlink to open the Details window, where you can view additional information. Then you must install all listed IIS components manually.

NOTE: The Web App, Self Service Portal, and the API module rely on the same required IIS components.

Depending on the operating system hosting your web server, you can install ISS components as follows:

  • On Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 8.1, or Windows 10 use the “Turn Windows features on or off” tool to turn on Windows features for Internet Information Services.

  • On Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Server 2012, Windows Server 2012 R2, Windows Server 2016, or Windows Server 2019, use the Server Manager to install role services for Web Server (IIS).

  • NOTE: For example, to install Common HTTP Features on Windows Server 2008 R2, follow these steps:
    1. Select Administrative Tools > Server Manager from the Start menu.
    2. In the left navigation pane, expand Roles, right-click Web Server (IIS), and then click Add Role Services.
    3. Under Select Role Services pane, scroll down to Common HTTP Features and select the Static Content, Default Document, and HTTP Errors check boxes in that group.
    4. In the Select Role Services pane, click Next, and then click Install under Confirm Installations Selections.
    5. Click Close to exit the Add Role Services Wizard.

For IIS 7.5 (Windows 7, Windows Server 2008 R2),
IIS 8.7.0 (Windows 8, Windows Server 2012),
IIS 8.5 (Windows 8.1, Windows Server 2012 R2),
IIS 10 (Windows 10, Windows Server 2016, Windows Server 2019), use the following features:

Common HTTP Features

(for a non-server OS: World Wide Web Services > Common HTTP Features)

  • Static Content
  • Default Document
  • HTTP Errors
  • HTTP Redirection
  • NOTE: Either HTTP Redirection or Static Content Compression component is required.

Application Development

(for a non-server OS: World Wide Web Services > Application Development Features)

  • .NET Extensibility
  • ISAPI Extensions
  • ISAPI Filters

(for a non-server OS: World Wide Web Services > Security)

  • Request Filtering
  • Windows Authentication
  • NOTE: The Windows Authentication features are required only if you plan to use Windows Authentication in your web service. For details, see Authentication Types.

Management Tools

(for a non-server OS: Web Management Tools)

  • IIS Management Console

(for a non-server OS: Performance Features)

  • Static Content Compression
  • NOTE: Either HTTP Redirection or Static Content Compression component is required.