Upgrade your Alloy Navigator Express Express 8 database

Now you can upgrade your existing Alloy Navigator Express 8.x database to the latest version.

IMPORTANT: If the database is involved in replication, you should turn off replication before upgrading it. After the database has been successfully upgraded, you can re-configure SQL Server database replication. For details, see your Microsoft SQL Server documentation such as Microsoft SQL Server Books Online, or other online resources. For example, see how to disable SQL Server 2017 database replication on the Microsoft MSDN web site at
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms152757%28v=sql.105%29.aspx.

  1. Run the Database Management tool for Alloy Navigator Express from the Windows Start menu or using the Alloy Control Panel.

    INFO: For details, see Using the Alloy Control Panel.

  2. On the Welcome page, click Next. The Choose an action to perform page opens.
  3. Click Upgrade an Alloy Navigator Express 8.x database to the latest version and click Next. The Specify the target server and database page opens.
  4. Enter the name or IP address of the SQL server that stores the database, enter your login information, and choose the database you want to upgrade.

    NOTE: If you are connecting to a named SQL Server instance, it must be specified in the form Servername\Instancename; for example: SQLSERV001\SQLEXPRESS. If the server uses a non-standard port, add the port number, separating it with a comma; for example, SQLSERV001\SQLEXPRESS,5618.

    Click Next. The Back up the target Alloy Navigator Express 8 database page opens.

  5. Browse for a folder on the SQL server for the backup file and specify its name. The backup is safety precaution that would allow you to restore the new database in case the upgrade process is interrupted and the database is left in an inoperable state.

    IMPORTANT: Do not delete this backup file until the upgrade is complete and you are satisfied with the results.

    Click Next. The Database Account page opens.

  6. Specify the Database Account.
  7. IMPORTANT: For details, see Database Account

    Provide the credentials for an existing SQL Server login that will serve as the Database Account. Alternatively, click Create SQL Server Account and create a new SQL Server login for this task.

    Click Next. The Database Access Key page opens.

  8. Once you specified the Database Account, the Database Management tool generates a Database Access Key. By default, the key is exported into the [KeyName].reg file on your desktop. To change the default path or name, click the ellipsis button and specify a new location.
  9. INFO: For details, see Distributing the Database Access Key.

    Click Next. The Automatic Upgrade page opens.

  10. Optional: On this page you can enable the Automatic Upgrade feature. For details, see Automatically Upgrade Alloy Navigator Express7 Client Components for Technicians.

    NOTE: You can skip this step now and enable this feature later using the Settings app.

    IMPORTANT: The Automatic Upgrade feature works only for upgrades from version 7.2 or later.

    1. Click the ellipsis button to specify the location of the latest Alloy Navigator Express 8 installation file (AlloyNavigatorExpressSetup87x.exe).
    2. The Turn on the Automatic Upgrade check box that was unavailable appears selected automatically.

    Click Next. The Ready to proceed page opens.

  11. On the Ready to proceed page, click Next.
  12. Click Finish when you have finished.

    NOTE: If you customized any pre-packaged reports in your previous 8.x version, all customizations are preserved during the upgrade. However, the latest version may include some updates to pre-packed reports, including those that you customized. If any updated copies of your customized reports exist, Alloy Navigator Express automatically installs them during the upgrade and adds (Updated in 8.x.x) to their names. For details, see Help: Updating summary reports to the latest version and Help: Updating detail reports to the latest version.

    NOTE: During the upgrade process all the existing CSS style definitions and templates with all the elements of the Preview Pane will be replaced with the new data. Your backup file will contain definitions and templates of the previous version. The icons will be replaced as well with no backup. For details, see Help: Customizing style sheets.