Archiving unused Service Desk data

As your team successfully completes their tasks, the number of closed Tickets (Change Requests, Incidents, Problems, Service Requests, and Work Orders) grows, so does the size of your Alloy Navigator database. However, these closed Ticket records are rarely needed in daily activities. In order to reduce the size of your database you should use the Archiving functionality.

Archiving moves closed Tickets into an archive database and deletes the originals from your Alloy Navigator database. If you don not want to archive your data you can simply purge closed Tickets, although that is not recommended.

IMPORTANT: Archived records do not store Information about Tickets' History or their Related Objects (for details, see Viewing and restoring archived Tickets). Archived records can be only viewed, so this feature is not a substitute for regular data backups. To back up your database, use the Database Backup/Restore Wizard. For details, see Wizard and Tools Help System - Database Backup/Restore Wizard.

Use the Services > Archiving section to configure one or more archiving jobs to regularly clean up your closed Tickets and to view the Archiving Log. The section includes the following subsections: