General preferences

With general preferences, you can customize the general behavior of your Desktop App to suit your needs. For example, you can configure the startup behavior for the Desktop App so that the application automatically restores all tabs from your previous sessions when you log in to Alloy Navigator . You can also specify how to indicate non-empty tabs.

Options window - General tab

You use the General tab of the Options window to customize the general behavior of the Desktop App. To access the Options window, select Tools > Options from the main menu.

When starting section - specifies what the Desktop App displays whenever it starts (for details, see Specifying the startup location):

Show dashboard - shows the dashboard.

Show all tabs from last time - restores all tabs from your previous session.

Show saved tabs - restores saved tabs from your previous session. If you did not save your tabs, the dashboard will be shown. For details on saving tabs, see Saving the current layout of tabs.

Tabs Options section - specifies how to indicate tabs containing grids:

For tabs that contain grids show - specifies whether to indicate the records' tabs that contain non-empty grids with a bullet or the number of records the grid contains. For details, see Indicating non-empty tabs.

Close Options section - specifies whether a confirmation dialog box appears before exiting the application.

Confirm before exiting the application - enables a confirmation dialog box, which appears when you click the exit button "x" in the upper-right corner of the application window or press ALT+F4 on the keyboard and asks you if you really want to close the application.

NOTE: This option applies both to the Desktop App and Settings App.

Applying general preferences

Click a task to see detailed instructions: