Using the Advanced Filter

When you apply the advanced filter to a selected view, Alloy Navigator refers to the database and retrieves data according to the specified filter criteria.

You can create and apply the advanced filters as follows:

NOTE about shared views: You can change the advanced filter of a shared view, but you cannot save your changes and update the shared view. To save your changes, create your local copy of the shared view. For details, see Working with views.

Once you applied the filter, Alloy Navigator updates view title with the '(Filter Applied)' ending displayed both on the tab above the grid and in the status bar (for details, see Menus and Toolbars). To use the configured filter criteria more than once, you can save the view with the applied filter (for details, see Working with views).

NOTE: If you have limited the number of records to retrieve (for details, see Applying advanced preferences: Limiting the number of records to retrieve), it is recommended that you use the Advanced Filter.

NOTE: By default, Alloy Navigator converts the Quick Filter into the Advanced Filter when you save a grid view (for details, see Working with views). To disable automatic conversion, clear the check box in the Advanced Filter Options section of the Advanced Preferences.