Disabling or enabling user accounts

If you want to temporarily prohibit a user from accessing Alloy NavigatorClosed (the Desktop App, Web App, Mobile App, and Self Service Portal) , you can disable this user's Alloy Navigator account. Later, you can enable this account.

Alternatively, you can inactivate the associated person record in the Desktop App. The users whose accounts (either SSP Customers or Technician ones) are associated with inactive person records cannot log in to the Self Service Portal, Desktop App, Web App, or Mobile App.

To disable an active account:

  • In the Users & Security > Accounts and Roles > Accounts section, right-click the user account you want to disable and select Disable from the pop-up menu. Alternatively, you can double-click the account to bring up the User Account window, and click the Make Inactive button there.

    NOTE: If this account is currently in use, it will be disabled the next time the user attempts to log in. If you want to force the user to log off, you can go to Users & Security > User Sessions and terminate the user session. For details, see Terminating user sessions manually.

To enable a disabled user account:

  • In the Users & Security > Accounts and Roles > Accounts section, right-click the user account you want to enable and select Enable from the pop-up menu. Alternatively, you can double-click the account to bring up the User Account window, and click the Make Active button there.