Managing Shared Snippet Categories

Updated in 8.4

Alloy Navigator displays shared snippets under the "Shared" category, in order to recognize them from personal snippets (which appear in the "Personal" category). To make shared snippets easier to find, you can break them down even further into categories for shared snippets (such as "Shared > Activities," or "Shared > Descriptions"). The categories tree always has the category "All," which includes all existing snippets. This system category cannot be changed in any way. For illustration, see figure in Managing Shared Snippets.

Creating Shared Snippet Categories

  1. From the Sidebar, navigate to General > Shared Snippets.
  2. Click New in the Module menu above the Categories pane. The New Personal Category dialog box opens.
  3. Type the category name and click OK. The newly-created category appears in the Categories pane.

Renaming Shared Snippet Categories

  1. From the Sidebar, navigate to General > Shared Snippets.
  2. In the Categories pane, double-click the category you want to rename. The Edit Category dialog box opens.
  3. Modify the category name and click OK.

Deleting Shared Snippet Categories

  1. From the Sidebar, navigate to General > Shared Snippets.
  2. In the Categories pane, select the category you want to delete.
  3. Press DELETE on the keyboard or click More > Delete on the Module menu above the Categories pane

    NOTE: When deleting a category, you remove only the classification, but not snippets that the category included. All contained snippets remain, although they lose their category.