Enabling Automatic Upgrade

The Automatic Upgrade distributes the latest client components of Alloy Discovery among technicians after a migration or upgrade from a previous version. When the Automatic Upgrade is enabled, technicians are prompted to automatically upgrade the installation as soon as they start their outdated version of the Desktop App.

In order to enable the Automatic Upgrade, the installer must be uploaded and the Automatic Upgrade must be turned on. Typically, this is done automatically during the migration or upgrade.

In the Settings App, you can manually upload the latest installer and turn the Automatic Upgrade on or off:

  1. Go to General >Upgrade and Migration and review the state of the Automatic Upgrade feature: ON or OFF.

    NOTE: The Automatic Upgrade is unavailable and the Turn On button appears dimmed until the installer is uploaded.

  2. Under Shared Installation Package, review the name of the uploaded installer (if any) and the details about the upload.

  3. To upload an installer, click Upload Installer (or Replace Installer if any installer is already uploaded). Then navigate to your latest installation file (typically, Alloy DiscoverySetup87x.exe) and click Open.

    NOTE: The upload process can take some time to complete.

  4. To turn the Automatic Upgrade on, click Turn On. To turn it off, click Turn Off.

IMPORTANT: The Automatic Upgrade feature works only for migration from version 7.2 or later. If you are migrating from an earlier version, you will need to distribute the latest client components manually. For details, see Installation Guide: Migration to the Latest Version.