Conflict Resolution

In the Conflict Resolution section, you can specify conflict policy to apply and view and resolve conflicts, if they occur.

NOTE: You can review the conflicting parameters and resolve the conflict by double-clicking a conflict record in the Task Progress window.

Conflict Policy

You use the Conflict Policy section to define conflict resolution rules. Each rule determines which fields are checked for uniqueness when comparing records existing in the database with new ones uploaded from audit snapshots files, and specifies the action to perform when the conflict is detected.

The rules are applied in the order they are displayed.

In the Conflict Policy section, you can define conflict policy as follows:

NOTE: Sometimes the Serial_Num identification field may contain the same dummy value for multiple Windows or Linux computers. You can configure Alloy Discovery to ignore dummy values during the audit. For details, see SMBIOS Filter.

Conflict List

When Alloy Discovery detects potentially duplicate computer records in accordance with a rule specified in conflict policy, and the rule orders manual conflict resolution, a conflict between the audit snapshot and the Computer record is logged and appears in the Conflict List. Also, the Conflict detected warning message appears on the Status Bar of a Desktop App, it stays displayed until all the conflicts are resolved.

NOTE: Alloy Discovery allows you to define the Conflict Detected alert to be sent (for details, see Creating alerts).

In the Conflict List section, you can work with upload conflicts as follows:

  • ClosedResolving a conflict:

    1. Double-click the conflict in the conflict list. The Conflict Details window opens.

    2. View the information in the window. The conflicting parameters are shown in the Conflict Details section.

    3. In the Resolution section, choose the method of conflict resolution: select either the Create new... or Overwrite... option.

    4. Click Resolve. The conflict’s status changes to "Scheduled". The Inventory Server will update the data in the database as you have chosen on Step 3 and the conflict status will change to "Resolved".

    NOTE: You can check the status of the conflict resolution in the Desktop App (see the "Check for Conflicts" task in the Task List).

  • ClosedViewing the conflict log:

    1. Select the desired conflict in the Conflict List.

    2. Click View Log to open the log file of the selected conflict.

  • ClosedDeleting one or several conflict messages:

    • Select one or several messages on the Conflict List and click Delete.

    NOTE: It's recommended that you delete messages in the "Resolved" status only.

  • ClosedRefreshing the Conflict List:

    • Click Refresh to refresh the Conflict List.