Move to Production

This final migration step will switch your pilot database to production one last time. The configuration data of your pilot system will be unaffected.

During the final migration step, you can flip production databases, which means your old database will be taken offline, renamed to DatabaseName_SAVE, then the new Alloy Navigator 8 database will take the name of the original database. This DatabaseName_SAVE database represents a backup of your Alloy Navigator data. We recommend that you keep the Flip Production Databases option enabled.

  1. Run the Database Management tool for Alloy Navigator and click Next to continue.
  2. Choose the Migrate data from a previous version of Alloy Navigator option and click Next.The Choose the migration mode page opens.
  3. Select the Move to Production option and keep the Flip Production Databases check box selected.

  4. Click Next. The Choose the source and target database page opens.

  5. Specify the following settings:

    Click Next. The Back up the source [Product Name and Version] database page opens.

    1. Enter the name or IP address of the SQL server where both production and pilot databases reside.

    2. Authenticate yourself on the SQL Server using an account with the sysadmin role on the SQL Server and the Administrator role in both databases.

    3. Select the name of your production database (source database) and the name of the pilot Alloy Navigator 8 database (target database).

  6. Browse for a folder on the SQL server for the backup file and specify its filename. The "Move to Production" step will not affect your source database, however, a backup copy is required for the migration process.

    Click Next. The Back up the target Alloy Navigator 8 database page opens.

  7. Browse for a folder on the SQL server for the backup file and specify its file name. The "Move to Production" step will not affect your target database, however, a backup copy is required for the migration process. Click Next. The Ready to proceed page opens.

  8. Click Next to start the final migration. When the process is complete, the Database setup completed page opens.

  9. Click Finish to complete the update.

    NOTE: During the migration process all the existing CSS style definitions and templates with all the elements of the Preview Pane will be replaced with the new data. Your backup file will contain definitions and templates of the previous version. The icons will be replaced as well with no backup. For details, see

    INFO: For the activation instructions, see Activating the Product.